Pleasant Hill CUSD #3 March 12, 2018 Pleasant Hill, Illinois

The Board of Education of Pike and Calhoun Counties, Unit District No. 3, held its regular meeting on March 12, 2018. The meeting was called to order by President Doug Damon at 7:00 p.m. Members present answered roll call as follows:

Present: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Absent: None

<u>Motion No. 1</u> by Member Peebles, seconded by Member Damon, to approve to adjourn at 7:02 p.m. to Executive Session pursuant to 5 ILCS 120/2 (c) (1) to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the public body or legal counsel for the public body, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee of the public body or against legal counsel for the public body to determine its validity. Members present answered roll call vote as followed:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

<u>Motion No. 2</u> by Member Peebles, seconded by Member Robinson, to approve to accept Rachael Tenk resignation of her employment with Pleasant Hill CUSD #3 effective immediately. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

<u>Motion No. 3</u> by Member Peebles, seconded by Member Damon, to approve to adjourn at 7:28 p.m. to the Open Session from the Executive Session pursuant to 5 ILCS 120/2 (c) (1) to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the public body or legal counsel for the public body, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee of the public body or against legal counsel for the public body to determine its validity. Members present answered roll call vote as followed:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

Motion No. 4 by Member Picone, seconded by Member Crowder, to approve the Consent Agenda. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

Motion No. 5 by Member Damon, seconded by Member Hammitt, to approve to set High School Graduation for Saturday, June 2, 2018 at 2:00 p.m., the 8th Grade Promotion for Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:00 p.m., and Baccalaureate for Wednesday, May 30, 2018 at 7:00 p.m. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

<u>Motion No. 6</u> by Member Peebles, seconded by Member Crowder, to approve to renew membership in the Illinois High School Association for the 2018-2019 school year. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

Motion No. 7 by Member Robinson, seconded by Member Hammitt, to approve to renew membership in the Illinois Elementary School Association for the 2018-2019 school year. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

<u>Motion No. 8</u> by Member Peebles, seconded by Member Robinson, to approve to renew the cooperative agreement for boy's football between Pleasant Hill High School and Western High School for the 2018-2019 and 2019-2020 school years with Pleasant Hill High School being host school. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

<u>Motion No. 9</u> by Member Hammitt, seconded by Member Robinson, to approve the repayment in full of a loan of \$20,000 made on January 18, 2018 from the Working Cash Fund to the Building Fund. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

<u>Motion No. 10</u> by Member Hammitt, seconded by Member Damon, to approve an interfund loan of \$5,000 from the Working Cash Fund to the Building Fund. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

<u>Motion No. 11</u> by Member Peebles, seconded by Member Hammitt, to adjourn at 8:10 p.m. to Executive Session for the purpose of the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the District. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

Motion No. 12 by Member Peebles, seconded by Member Picone, to approve to rehire Ron Edwards, Ryan Lowe, and Jeff Shireman for the 2018-19 school year. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

Motion No. 13 by Member Peebles, seconded by Member Picone, to approve to rehire the following teachers for the 2018-2019 school year. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Michelle Baalman Mary Barnes Ashley Borrowman Stacy Borrowman Shannon Davis Heather Evans Lacey Kamp Nancy Pruett Christine Schumann Jenna Simonsen Kayla Smith

Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

Motion No. 14 by Member Peebles, seconded by Member Hammitt, to approve to accept the resignations of Blake Skillman and Jane Zarello. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

Motion No. 15 by Member Picone, seconded by Member Hammitt, to approve to adjourn at 8:17 p.m. Members present answered roll call vote as follows:

Aye Votes: Crowder, Damon, Hammitt, Orr, Peebles, Picone, Robinson Nay Votes: None

Motion carried.

President

Secretary